top of page



SSWAA Award Nominations are now closed for 2021. Check back next year to make your nomination.

The School Social Work Association of America (SSWAA) has opened nominations for the following awards:  Gary Lee Shaffer Award, Legislator of the Year, Randy Fisher Career Achievement Award and School Social Worker of the Year. 

Click on the title of award below to submit your nominations.

GARY LEE SHAFFER AWARD:  Faculty Member who has made significant contributions to the field of school social work

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD: SSWAA would like to recognize the author(s) of exemplary print or electronic books in the field of school social work. Books must have a copyright year of 2022-2023.


LEGISLATOR OF THE YEAR:  Elected official of a municipality, state or federal government that has sponsored or contributed to a policy benefitting K-12 students, school communities, or school social workers. 

RANDY FISHER CAREER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD:  A school social worker who has made significant contributions to the field.  Nominees must have a variety of experiences as a school social work practitioner, educator at the university/college level, author, presenter, and/or leadership position (volunteer or employee) that spans a significant number of years.  Additionally, nominees should be long-time members of state (when appropriate) and national school social work and social work associations.    


SCHOOL SOCIAL WORKER OF THE YEAR:  Outstanding achievement in field of school social work.

bottom of page